• Address 720 East Locust Street | Milwaukee, WI 53212
  • Phone 414.263.5001
  • Hours Tue-Fri 11-8pm | Sat-Sun 12-5pm | Closed Mon
  • Hours Tue-Fri 11-8pm, Sat-Sun 12-5pm, Closed Mon
Event Calendar
readings & workshops
April 6 - Sep 28

Book Club: Readshops led by Karl Gartung

readings & workshops
July 3 - Sep 25

Dhamma MKE

August 1 - Sep 26

The Point Being: Works by Thomas Gaudynski

readings & workshops
September 5

Br!NK New Play Festival

film & video
September 6

aCinema presents Aurora Picture Show’s Extremely Shorts Touring Program

readings & workshops
September 7

Poetry Reading: Ana Božičević & Annie Grizzle

readings & workshops
September 7

Poems are a River: Writing Built and Natural Form - a workshop with Ana Božičević

September 11

Thomas Gaudynski, Linda Binder, and Mark Mantel performing in response to The Point Being

September 14

AVIARY: Selected Paintings by Ken Wood - Book Release and Reception

September 15

Alternating Currents Live presents Silvia Bolognesi and Russ Johnson

September 19

Formations Series for New and Improvised Music

readings & workshops
September 20

Poetry Reading: John Sierpinski, Sylvia Cavanaugh, and Ed Werstein

Archived special events
Jan 28 January 28 - January 29
10:00am, $10 | FREE for those who pledge a reader for $35 or more


It’s time once again for our day-long celebration of poetry and performance in Milwaukee and beyond. Join the hundreds of poets, writers, and lovers of the arts who set up camp at the book center and indulge in 15 hours of literary revelry. The event will run from 10 AM Saturday morning until 1 AM on Sunday, and will feature 150 poets and writers from Milwaukee and environs. All are welcome to participate, we only ask that each performer raise at least $35 in pledges - though we encourage participants to raise as much as they can! All of the money raised will support Woodland Pattern’s 2016 programming in literature and the arts, including our Lynden Sculpture Garden Writer-in-Residence and our Urban Youth Literary Arts Program.



Pledge a Reader!

Reader's Name:

There are many poets for whom the cost of reading in the marathon may be prohibitive. If you’d like to help these readers, consider a “pledge a reader” donation. Money received through these donations will go directly to a poet who is unable to meet the $35 minimum pledge goal. You support Woodland Pattern AND a local artist - win-win!


More Details 


Click here for a copy of the 2017 Pledge Sheet. 


Click here to learn more about sponsoring an hour of the Marathon.


For additional information or to sign up as a reader, call us at 414-263-5001 or stop by the book center at 720 E. Locust Street in Riverwest.


To underwrite an hour of the Marathon contact Amanda [Ngoho] Reavey at amandar@woodlandpattern.org.

10 AM-11 AM

Youth Hour


Braniyah Hannah

Breya Nathan

Niles Janzen

Codack Robinson

Dreamy Robinson

Tim Haspel

11 AM-12 PM


Ronnie Hess

James Roberts

Candice Truesdell Nokes

Greg Flegel

Paul McComas &

     Maya Kuper

Karen Haley

Eloisa Gomez

12 PM-1 PM

Wednesday Writers


Maria Scott

Janine Arseneau

Jackie Reid Detloff

Diane Bezella

Marianne Canter

Kavon Jones

Joseph Bieniek

Carol Ann Amour

Judy Tolkan

1 PM-2 PM


Mike Michaels

Bob Koshin Hanson

Ed Block

Josie Hymes

Kimberley Lyons

2 PM-3 PM


Lenore Lee

Angie Trudell-Vasquez

Joel Ottenstein

Ranee Zaporski

Paul Wiegel

Ed Makowski

Charles Trimberger

Heddy Keith


3 PM-4 PM

Wisconsin Fellowship

of Poets


Sylvia Cavanaugh
Tom Erickson
Mary Lux
Kim Parsons
Katy Phillips
John Sierpinski
Sheryl Slocum
David Southward
Ed Werstein
Mark Zimmermann


4 PM-5 PM


JoAnn Chang

Carolyn Vargo

Sue Blaustein

Judith Zukerman

Matt Mulder

Lolly Rzezotarski

Sarah Rosenblatt

Harvey Taylor

Nick Ramsey

Anthony Makovec

5 PM-6 PM


Nancy Rafal

Doris Bezio

Cary Fellman

Phyllis Wax

Ken Woodall

Steven Platt

Scott Schesso

Suzanne Rosenblatt

Ana Merakis

6 PM-7 PM


Susan Firer

Franklin KR Cline

Peter Goldberg

Jonny Lohr

Alice Ladrick

Barbara Wuest

Stephen Anderson

Steve Pump

Paul Enea

Chris Austin

7 PM-8 PM



Mike Hauser

Stacy Blint

Jackie Lalley

Karl Gartung

Cathy Cunningham

John Koethe

Brenda Cardenas

Roberto Harrison

Chuck Stebelton

James Chapson

8 PM-9 PM

Odonata Women


Kimberly Blaeser

Wendy Vardaman

Margaret Rozga

Amanda Ngoho Reavey

CK Kubasta

Lisa Vihos

Martha Kaplan

Freesia McKee

Rita Mae Reese

Sarah Sadie

9 PM-10 PM



Alix Anne Shaw

Peter Whalen

Michael Wendt

Dan Godston

Jennifer Karmin

Andrew Cantrell

Ben Turk

Nick Demske

Kelsey Hoff

Alex Reilly

10 PM-11 PM

UWM Film Department


Grace Mitchell

Tayler Kizewski

Gabriella Cisneros

J. T. Moore

Ian Guyette

Taylor Bell

Charles Barrie

Kali Walker

Emily Kuester

Serbata Tarrer

11 PM-12 AM



Caitlin Scarano

Sherri Hoffman

Rachel Kincaid

Elisa Karbin

David Kruger

Tobias Wray

Peter Burzynski

Soham Patel

12 AM-1 AM


Zack Pieper

Matt Cook


Keith Gaustad